Grimsby Cleethorpes and district Civic Society at last started their Talks programme again after so many months away, with a visit to Grimsby Town Hall.
Paul Wisken has been with the Council for 36 years ‘in various guises’ and since 2009 has been Civic and Mayoral Officer. He is clearly passionate about the Town Hall getting used; it is a building belonging to the townspeople and prior to the pandemic, usage was good but as with many venues recent restrictions have caused a difficult few months but visitor number are slowly building again.
As for many of our Talks, we were in the Crosland Suite but we didn’t know that early on in the building’s life, it was the Council Chamber with the Police Station below. Anyone visiting the Archives from the street today, will know of the cells which are still in place. What is now the Bremerhaven Room (and licensed for Civil Marriages) was once the Court Room and still used as such up to 1968. Such alterations have resulted in the existence today of a ‘Narnia cupboard’ with stairs leading to nowhere…..
Grade 2 Listed (Heritage England number 1379888) and originally built in 1863, an extension in 1888 provided today’s Council Chamber, Banqueting Room and the main staircase. What is now termed as ‘the back stairs’ and rarely seen, was the main staircase! The Assembly Room was originally all tiered seating. Anyone who has visited this room main room recently, cannot help not to be taken in by its splendid redecoration. This excellent refurbishment was made possible by the Charter Trustees. These Trustees maintain the continuity of a town charter; though Councillors, as Trustees they are independent of the Council.
We were reminded of the connection that our Borough Crest was also the old Borough Police Crest. There continues to be much debate about why Grimsby’s Crest is of 3 boars – we certainly don’t see any round here these days! The most accepted story is of boar hunting allegedly taking place in Bradley Woods – and this makes sense of the prominent mural behind the stage in the Assembly Room. We were treated to seeing the Borough flag in person – normally viewed only flying from the roof, it is in fact of ‘standard size’ at 4 yards (3.65m).
After our Talk we were treated to a tour of the building and also the excellent Time Trap Museum in the former prison cells – both of which were much enjoyed by everyone present.
We thank Paul and Town Hall staff for their hospitality – it was certainly good to be out and resume normal activity with our Talks programme!
For further information and images of its interior: https://www.nelincs.gov.uk/assets/uploads/2020/09/5642-Town-Hall-A4-folded-leaflet.pdf